HomeBrowseAdvanced SearchAboutHelpContact

Rhode Island Constitutional Convention records

Historical note

The 1986 Constitutional Convention was an unlimited Convention that began in January, 1986. The Convention met at the State House and at the Garrahy Judicial Complex in Providence. Kevin A. McKenna was President of the Convention, Albert Rainville, Vice-President, and James R. Langevin was Secretary. One hundred delegates, representing each R.I. district, took part. Governor Bruce Sundlun (1991-present) caused a controversy when he announced his bid to run for the 1986 race against incumbent Edward DiPrite. After some debating, he was eventually allowed to remain as a delegate.

The convention consisted of many tense debates, and numerous controversial topics, which are available in the transcripts. Most of these topics were about proposed voter ballot questions such as Ethics in Government, Rights to Life, Shoreline Use, and Felon Office Holding. On election day, (November 6) there were fourteen ballot questions presented to the voters. Six were rejected( 2,3,4,5,13 and 14), and eight were approved (1,6,7,8,9,10,11 and 12). The final ratification of the Convention took place on December 4 1986.